Rob Krar and Michele Yates named UltraRunners of the Year

Rob Krar (Galen Burrell photo)

Rob Krar (Galen Burrell photo)

Rob Krar

Rob Krar is the Male Ultra Runner of the Year. Krar won four major races during the year, capped off with a win at The North Face Endurance Challenge 50 Mile Championship. He set course records at the Leona Divide 50 Mile and the Moab Red Hot 55K. He was also a close second at the Western States 100 Mile, and set a fastest known time of the Grand Canyon rim to rim to rim. This is all the more impressive since Krar didn’t run his first ultra until November 2012. Krar, a collegiate middle-distance standout at Butler University, works as a pharmacist in Flagstaff, Arizona. (Galen Burrell photo)

2013 Race Results

Place Time Event Distance (Miles)
1 9:29:00 UROC 62
2 15:22:05 Western States 100
1 5:53:51 Leona Divide 50
1 3:44:06 Moab Red Hot 34
6:21:47 Rim to Rim to Rim FKT 41.2
1 6:21:10 TNF – SF 50

Michele Yates

Michele Yates

Michele Yates

Michele Yates is the Female Ultra Runner of the Year. Yates, a fitness consultant from Littleton, Colorado, won six of the seven races she entered in 2013, including highly competitive events like The North Face Endurance Challenge 50 Mile Championship, the Bandera 100K, and the Run Rabbit Run 100 Mile. Yates, a collegiate steeplechaser at UNLV and a 2:38 marathoner, was the outright winner of the inaugural Indiana Trail 100 Mile, finishing first overall out of 154 starters.

2013 Race Results

Place Female Place Time Event Distance (miles)
9 1 10:08:48 Bandera 62
12 1 4:19:50 Bootlegger 31
1 1 17:35:17 Indiana 100
4 1 6:53:25 Nueces 50
7 1 20:16:54 Run Rabbit Run – Hare 100
19 3 12:46:24 UROC 62
21 1 7:21:51 TNF – SF 50

 2013 Panel of Judges

Don Allison, former Publisher, UltraRunning magazine; Gary Cantrell, RD, Barkley and Strolling Jim; John Catts, RD, Quad Dipsea; Ed Demoney, founder, Old Dominion 100; Chrissy Ferguson, RD, Arkansas Traveler 100; Tim Fitzpatrick, RD, Tamalpa Headlands 50K; Topher Gaylord, President, Mountain Hardwear; Karl Hoagland, Publisher, UltraRunning magazine; Andy Jones-Wilkins, elite runner (VA); Erika Lindland, Contributing Editor, UltraRunning magazine; Don Lundell, Zombie Runner; Dave Mackey, elite runner (CO); John Medinger, RD, Lake Sonoma 50; Karl Meltzer, RD, Speedgoat 50K; Scott Mills, RD, San Diego 100; Bryon Powell, Editor-in-Chief,; Joe Prusaitis, RD, Bandera 100K and other Tejas Trails events; Glen Redpath, elite runner (NY); Brett Rivers, Owner, San Francisco Running Company; Mike Spinnler, RD, JFK 50; Meredith Terranova, elite runner (TX); Craig Thornley, RD, Western States 100; Gary Wang, Managing Editor,; Blake Wood, Hardrock 100 Board of Directors.


Comments are closed.